Dental Hygiene

Dental Hygiene Department Menu


259 Adams Street
Pearl Building 201 (P-201)
Brooklyn, NY 11201

Phone: 718-260-5070

Welcome to the Department of Dental Hygiene Education

Whether you're starting a career or looking for a change, the dental hygiene profession can provide many satisfying opportunities. These include: having the status of a licensed health care professional, an attractive income potential, the rewards of keeping people healthy, a flexible work schedule, the ability to work in a variety of professional settings, the option of working nationwide or abroad in pleasant surroundings and career stability.

Dental hygienists provide educational, clinical and therapeutic services to the public in accordance with individual state dental hygiene practice acts. Prevention and treatment of oral disease are recognized as important factors in a patient's overall health and well being and dental hygienists are important members of the dental health care team providing these services.


The Dental Hygiene and Dental Laboratory Technology programs at New York City College of Technology are scheduled for reviews and a site visit by their national accrediting agency, the Commission on Dental Accreditation on March 29, 30 and 31, 2017.

Students, faculty, program administrators, Commission consultants, specialty and dental related organizations, patients and other interested third parties are eligible to submit comments regarding this process.Comments must pertain only to the standards for the dental hygiene or dental laboratory technology programs or policies and procedures used in the Commission’s accreditation process.

A copy of the appropriate accreditation standards and/or the Commissions policy on third-party comments may be obtained by contacting the Commission on Dental Accreditation at 211 East Chicago Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611, or by calling 1-800-621-8099, extension 4653.

Comments should be submitted to: Third Party Comments, Commission on Dental Accreditation, 211 East Chicago Avenue, Chicago, IL., 60611; or faxed to 312-587-5104

All third party comments must be received in the Commission office by January 27, 2017.