Hospitality Management

Welcome to the Department of Hospitality Management

Our Mission

The mission of the hospitality management department of New York City College of Technology is to provide students with a hospitality career education that integrates applied management practices and theory with liberal arts and sciences. To fulfill its mission the department will:

  • Offer a comprehensive applied management curriculum
  • Provide students with the necessary professional and communications skills for successful careers
  • Foster an understanding of social responsibility through involvement in community service

The Baccalaureate program is accredited by the Accreditation Commission for Programs in Hospitality Administration (ACPHA).

The Hospitality Management Department invites you to explore for yourself the possibility of first-rate practical training combined with theoretical and liberal arts education – at an affordable cost – in the world's most dynamic city.

For more information, please contact us at HospitalityMgmt@citytech.cuny.edu.

Hospitality Management Department
Academic Advisement Schedule

Review the list of Hospitality Management academic advisors. To request an appointment during their listed advisement times, send them an email using your City Tech email address. Include the following information:

  • Full Name
  • Emplid number
  • Your preferred phone number
  • The purpose of the academic advising session

General questions can be emailed to the Department hospitalitymgmt@citytech.cuny.edu
Prepare for your virtual meeting with your Faculty Advisor:

  • have easy access to your current degree audit and past advisement worksheets
  • complete a “My Academic Career Planner” for the next two semesters
  • consider questions about course completion/progression and career opportunities/advancement
Advisor Day Time Contact Email Advisement by last name for students with less than 60 credits Advisement by area of focus for students with more than 60 credits

Prof. Rosa Abreu

Tuesday
Thursday

10-12 pm
11:30-12:30 pm

rabreu@citytech.cuny.edu

A-B

Food and Beverage Management

Prof. John Akana

Tuesday
Wednesday
Thursday

10-11 am
1-2 pm
8:30-9:30 am

jakana@citytech.cuny.edu

C

Hotel and Resort Management

Prof. Jean Claude

Wednesday
Thursday

2-4 pm
2-4 pm

jclaude@citytech.cuny.edu

D-E

Culinary Arts

Prof. Lynda Dias

Monday
Wednesday

11:30-12:30 pm
12:30-2:30 pm

ldias@citytech.cuny.edu

Transfer Students and
Special Circumstances

Hotel and Resort Management and Transfer Students

Prof. Karen Goodlad

Tuesday
Wednesday

11:30 - 1 pm
2:30-4 pm

kgoodlad@citytech.cuny.edu

Transfer Students and Special Circumstances

Food and Beverage Management and Transfer Students

Prof. Mark Hellermann

Wednesday

Thursday
& by appointment

10-11 am
2:15-3:15 pm
1-2 pm

mhellermann@citytech.cuny.edu

F-G

Pastry Arts

Prof. Joanne Jacus

Tuesday
Wednesday
Thursday

4:45-5:30 pm
11:30-1 pm
4-4:45 pm

jjacus@citytech.cuny.edu

H-J

Pastry Arts

Prof. Ellen Kim

Monday
Friday

1-2:30 pm
11-12:30 pm

ehkim@citytech.cuny.edu

K-L

Hotel and Resort Management

Prof. Susan Lifrieri-Lowry

Monday
Tuesday
Thursday

4:15-5:15 pm
1:45-2:45 pm
4:30-5:30 pm

SLifrieri-Lowry@citytech.cuny.edu

Transfer Students
M-N

Pastry Arts and Transfer Students

Prof. Amit Mehrotra

Wednesday
Thursday

2-3:30 pm
1:30-2:30 pm

amehrotra@citytech.cuny.edu

O-Q

Tourism

Prof. Thalia Pericles

Wednesday
Thursday

9-11 am
5-6 pm

tpericles@citytech.cuny.edu

Transfer Students and Special Circumstances

Pastry Arts

Prof. Susan Phillip

Tuesday
Wednesday

4-5 pm
3-5 pm

sphillip@citytech.cuny.edu

Transfer Students
R

Tourism

Prof. Claire Stewart

Monday
Thursday

1:30-2:30
11:00-12:30 

cstewart@citytech.cuny.edu

S

Culinary Arts

Prof. Gerald Van Loon

Tuesday
Wednesday

4-5:30 pm
1-2:30 pm

gvanloon@citytech.cuny.edu

T-V

Food and Beverage Management

Prof. Robert Walljasper

Monday
Thursday
Friday

9-10 am
9-10 am
9-10 am

rwalljasper@citytech.cuny.edu

W-Z

Culinary Arts