Hospitality Management

Welcome to the Department of Hospitality Management

Our Mission

The mission of the hospitality management department of New York City College of Technology is to provide students with a hospitality career education that integrates applied management practices and theory with liberal arts and sciences. To fulfill its mission the department will:

  • Offer a comprehensive applied management curriculum
  • Provide students with the necessary professional and communications skills for successful careers
  • Foster an understanding of social responsibility through involvement in community service

The Baccalaureate program is accredited by the Accreditation Commission for Programs in Hospitality Administration (ACPHA).

The Hospitality Management Department invites you to explore for yourself the possibility of first-rate practical training combined with theoretical and liberal arts education – at an affordable cost – in the world's most dynamic city.

For more information, please contact us at HospitalityMgmt@citytech.cuny.edu.

Hospitality Management Department

Academic Advisement Schedule

Spring 2021

Review the list of Hospitality Management academic advisors. To request an appointment during their listed advisement times, send advisor an email using your City Tech email address. Include the following information:

  • Full Name
  • Emplid number
  • Your preferred phone number
  • The purpose of the academic advising session

General questions can be emailed to the Department hospitalitymgmt@citytech.cuny.edu
Prepare for your virtual meeting with your Faculty Advisor:

  • have easy access to your current degree audit and past advisement worksheets
  • complete a “My Academic Career Planner” for the next two semesters
  • consider questions about course completion/progression and career opportunities/advancement
Advisor Day and Time Contact Email Advisement by last name for students
with less than 60 credits
Advisement by area of focus for students
with more than 60 credits
Prof. Rosa Abreu Wednesday: 3:30-5:30 pm
Thursday: 11:30-12:30 pm
rabreu@citytech.cuny.edu A-B Food and Beverage Management
Prof. John Akana Monday: 4-6 pm
Tuesday: 10:30-11:30 am
jakana@citytech.cuny.edu C Hotel and Resort Management
Prof. Jean Claude Wednesday: 2-4 pm
Thursday: 4-6 pm
jclaude@citytech.cuny.edu D-E Culinary Arts
Prof. Lynda Dias Tuesday: 9-10 am
Thursday: 10-12 pm
ldias@citytech.cuny.edu Transfer Students and
Special Circumstances
Hotel and Resort Management and Transfer Students
Prof. Karen Goodlad Tuesday: 11:30-1 pm
Wednesday: 2:30-4 pm
kgoodlad@citytech.cuny.edu Transfer Students and Special Circumstances Food and Beverage Management and Transfer Students

Prof. Mark Hellermann

Tuesday: 7:30-8:15 am
Tuesday: 11-12 pm
Wednesday: 11-12:30 pm

mhellermann@citytech.cuny.edu F-G Pastry Arts
Prof. Joanne Jacus Tuesday: 1:45-2:45 pm
Thursday: 4:45 -5:45 pm
Friday: 5:15-6:15 pm
jjacus@citytech.cuny.edu H-J Pastry Arts
Prof. Ellen Kim Thursday: 8:30-9:30 pm
Friday: 9:30-11:30 am
ehkim@citytech.cuny.edu K-L Hotel and Resort Management
Prof. Susan Lifrieri-Lowry Monday: 4:30-5:30 pm
Thursday: 1:15-2:15 pm
Friday: 10-11 am
slifrieri-lowry@citytech.cuny.edu

Transfer Students
M-N

Pastry Arts and Transfer Students
Prof. Amit Mehrotra Monday: 4:30-6 pm
Tuesday: 4:30-6 pm
amehrotra@citytech.cuny.edu O-Q Tourism
Prof. Thalia Pericles Monday: 12-2 pm
Wednesday: 2-3 pm

tpericles@citytech.cuny.edu Transfer Students and Special Circumstances Pastry Arts
Prof. Susan Phillip Tuesday: 2-3 pm
Thursday: 2-4 pm
sphillip@citytech.cuny.edu Transfer Students
R
Tourism
Prof. Claire Stewart Wednesday: 2-3:30 pm
Thursday: 11:00-12:30 pm
cstewart@citytech.cuny.edu S Culinary Arts
Prof. Gerald Van Loon Wednesday: 11:00-12:30 pm
Thursday: 12:30-2 pm
gvanloon@citytech.cuny.edu T-V Food and Beverage Management
Prof. Robert Walljasper Tuesday: 9-10 am
Wednesday: 4-5 pm
Thursday: 9-10 am
rwalljasper@citytech.cuny.edu W-Z Culinary Arts

Spring 2021 - Adjunct Virtual Office Hour Schedule

All office hours via email, Zoom, or phone. Zoom by appointment only. Email for appointment.
Any questions, email eschaible@citytech.cuny.edu.
Please email a listed HMGT adjunct instructor to request an appointment during their listed professional office hours dates and times. Please note that in your email you need to include the following information:

  • Full Name
  • Emplid number
  • Use CityTech email account only
  • Daytime or cell phone number

How to prepare for a virtual meeting with your Faculty Instructor:

  • Make a list of questions/topics you would like to discuss
  • Have your questions ready
  • Have your class notes, handouts and course text or readings available to easily access
  • Be prepared to take notes during your meeting
  • If needed, set up an additional appointment for further discussion or follow up
Advisor Day Time Contact Email
Prof. Christina Andrews Monday
Tuesday
10:25-11:25 pm & 5:25-5:55 pm
5:40-6:40 pm
candrews@citytech.cuny.edu
Prof. Edward Cleveland

Wednesday & Thursday

4:55-5:55 pm ecleveland@citytech.cuny.edu
Prof. David Dallis Monday & Tuesday 5:25-5:55 & 8:35-9:05pm ddallis@citytech.cuny.edu
Prof. Martha Dallis Thursday
Saturday
1:35-2:35 pm
11:35-12:35 pm
Mdallis@citytech.cuny.edu
Prof. Louise Hoffman Thursday 6-7 pm lhoffman@citytech.cuny.edu
Prof. Horace Hutchinson Wednesday
Thursday
Friday
4:55-5:55 pm
4:55-5:55 pm
7:25-8:25 pm
hhutchinson@citytech.cuny.edu
Prof. Michael Krondl Monday
Tuesday
5:05-6:05 pm
5:05-6:05 pm
mkrondl@citytech.cuny.edu
Prof. William Moore Monday 2-4 pm wmoore@citytech.cuny.edu
Prof. Adrian Murcia Wednesday & Thursday

4:30-5:30 pm amurcia@citytech.cuny.edu
Prof. John Muzio Wednesday
Saturday
8:30-9:30 am
3:15-4:15 pm
jmuzio@citytech.cuny.edu
Prof. Lina Romasanta Tuesday
Wednesday
10:30-11:30 am
5-6 pm
lromasanta@citytech.cuny.edu
Prof. Edward Sanders Wednesday 1:30-2:30 pm

esanders@citytech.cuny.edu
Prof. Ekland Skifteri

Friday 11-12 pm eskifteri@citytech.cuny.edu
Prof. Christopher Struck Thursday 2-3 pm cstruck@citytech.cuny.edu
Prof. Dolores Urena Tuesday & Wednesday 9:55-10:25 am dcurena@cityech.cuny.edu

For HMGT general advisement including advice on academic planning, class schedule and career opportunities, please contact a full time HMGT faculty member